rrlogowipo2  gulfstream consider it done  edr-logodunhillhermesliberty vat69









































Welcome visitor you can log in or create an account

US Trust Cup

US Trust Cup finals pit Casablanca against ELGBy Alex Webbe
ELG’s (Avery Chapman, Marc Ganzi, Nic Roldan and Carlitos Gracida) opening 6-2 win

over Beluga (Misha Rodzianko, Mariano Gracida, Joey Casey and Carlos Diaz) in the

opening three chukker’s of Friday’s US Trust Cup round-robin on the grounds set the

pace for the weekend competition.

Three goals from Nic Roldan and single goals from Avery Chapman, Marc Ganzi and

Carlitos Gracida were offset by a single goal by Misha Rodzianko. Beluga also received

one goal by handicap.


Beluga held the field in the second three chukkers against a powerful Audi (Melissa

Ganzi, Leo Mandelbaum, Brandon Phillips and Juan Bollini) lineup, and fared no better.

Audi team captain Melissa Ganzi scored two of her game-leading four goals in the

opening minute of play. Her third goal of the opening chukker had Audi firmly ahead, 3-

1 (Beluga again received one goal by handicap from the 13-goal Audi foursome.

Audi teammates Leo Mandelbaum and Brandon Phillips added two goals apiece to

close out the match in a resounding 8-1 romp.


ELG scored all five of their goals in the first period in the final three chukkers of the

morning round-robin to defeat Audi 5-4 and earn a berth in Sunday’s 10am finals.

A pair of impressive cut shots for goals by Marc Ganzi and single goals from Chapman,

Roldan and Carlitos Gracida were all that were needed as Audi held on to thwart a last

rally by Audi that brought them to within a goal of the lead. Mandelbaum and Phillips

each scored twice for Audi who came up short in the one goal loss.


Afternoon round-robin play saw Casablanca (Grant Ganzi, Juancito Bollini, Mike Azzaro

and Wes Finlayson) outscoring their opponents 15-7 to earn the second tournament

finalist spot.

Casablanca opened the afternoon with a powerful 6-2 win over Palm House (Glen

Straub, Chris Kampsen, Guille Aguero and Charlie Armstrong) Juancito Bollini, Mike

Azzaro and Wes Finlayson scoring two goals each for the victory.

Palm House registered single goals from Glen Straub and Kris Kampsen in a losing



Palm House held the field for the second three chukkers of the round-robin, but fell

short in their last chukker rally, falling to Newport (Gene Goldstein, Michel Dorignac,

Luis Escobar and Kaisser Maakar), 6-5.

Newport took the early 2-1 (Palm House received one goal by handicap from Newport)

lead on goals from Luis Escobar and Michel Dorignac (60-yard penalty conversion).

Second chukker goals from Gene Goldstein and Escobar stretched the lead to two

goals, 4-2 on single goals from. Kris Kampsen was credited with Palm House’s only

goal of the period.

Goals from Straub and Kampsen tied the game at 4-4 in the third, but Newport was

ready. Goldstein scored from the field and Dorignac converted another 60-yard penalty

shot to move Newport back in front, 6-4. A final goal from Kampsen ended the mini-
match in a 6-5 Newport victory.


The final contest of the day had Casablanca flexing their offensive muscles once again

as they charged out to a 4-1 lead. Casablanca received one goal by handicap from

the 14-goal Newport lineup and quickly added three more goals to it. A lead-off goal

from Mike Azzaro and two more from seventeen-year-old Wes Finlayson had Newport

reeling as they reflected on their single penalty goal from Michel Dorignac.

Grant Ganzi converted a penalty short for a goal and the team was awarded a goal o

n a foul in the mouth of the Newport goal. Newport counted on two more goals from

Dorignac but trailed 6-3 after the first two chukkers.

Two more goals from Azzaro and a single goal from Juancito Bollini had Casablanca on

the winning end of a 9-5 score at the end of the match. Newport picked up goals from

Dorignac (penalty goal), Luis Escobar and Kaisser Maakar in the last chukker.

The victory boosts Casablanca into Sunday’s 10am finals at the Grand Champions Polo

Club as they face ELG for the trophy.